If you follow me on Instagram or Snapchat, you will see that almost EVERY week I am baking something. I am not a fancy baker where I try weird and wonderful things. I actually just stick to the basics; cupcakes, one-layer cakes, cookies. I have never tried venturing out to the rainbow seven layered cake or the cupcakes with a surprise in the middle! Ingredients are way too expensive on a student budget to deal with anything that MIGHT end up inedible.

tumblr_mjz4e1mdae1rhjxx4o1_500

Many friends and family have asked why I bake so much and if being a student is so ‘stressful’, where do I find the time? I guess most people assume baking is a tough job and when you have term tests or assignments, you wouldn’t really expect to see a student spending afternoons whipping up a batch of choc-chip cookies. But I find baking very therapeutic and it also helps me save money. I am a stress eater, so when my workload gets heavy, I am the person who lies in bed with a slice of cake, pretending as if nothing else exists! This is where my love for baking comes from (apart from learning everything from my mom). With baking, I can save money by buying a batch of ingredients once a month, instead of a slice of overpriced cake once a week…

Baking isn’t like cooking because you are able to (or you have to)  follow a strict recipe with exact amounts. So if you just stay true the recipe, nothing can go wrong. I suggest baking to any sweet tooth who feels a bit distracted by life. Buy some flour, eggs, butter, vanilla and there you have it; CAKE!

Here are a few simple recipes I have tried and they have never failed. They are not my own recipes, I get most of my ideas off Pintrest. So just click on the link below the pictures and get your wooden spoon ready because these are easy peasy!

img-20160929-wa0009
Lemon and Poppy-seed muffins, topped off with some lightly sweetened cream cheese frosting.  This is the perfect quick breakfast or tea-time snack. The muffins are moist and really good for you! If you want to take it easy on the fattening stuff, minus the cream cheese frosting and try a simple glaze instead.

Lemon and poppy-seed muffins; http://www.food.com/recipe/lemon-poppy-seed-muffins-100943

Cream cheese frosting; http://www.dessertnowdinnerlater.com/best-cream-cheese-frosting-recipe/

Alternate frosting (glaze); http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/lemon-glaze/6aa29b08-da0e-442b-ac25-a2975a72f381

 

img-20160929-wa0010
Mind blowing custard cookies. These are the most divine cookies I have ever tasted. And every single time I have made it, it always tastes the exact same way! It takes a little kneading so this might scare you, but trust me; it takes about 5 mins and your dough is ready! 

Custard Cookies; http://www.kannammacooks.com/eggless-custard-cookies/

img_20160813_135325
Carrot Cupcakes with cream cheese frosting (yes, I love cream cheese)

Carrot Cupcake; http://gimmedelicious.com/2014/07/21/easy-carrot-cupcakes-with-cream-cheese-frosting/

img_1629
Everyone’s favourite M&M peanut butter cookies. 

Peanut Butter cookies; http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/soft-and-chewy-peanut-butter-cookies-mms

 

 

 

 

